Contact us 24/7 for a FREE Consultation   (305) 576-0244 · (954) 524-6600
Se Habla Espanol

LET US HELP YOU

Galanter Law header image

Miami DUI Attorney


Driving under the influence (DUI) is rampant in the state of Florida. In an attempt to combat this dangerous problem, law enforcement has stepped up their efforts in terms of DUI arrests: according to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicle records, there were 55,722 DUI tickets issued in Florida last year and ultimately 33,625 DUI convictions. Don’t think it can’t happen to you—as discussed in the following short video, DUI is one of the crimes that people who you wouldn’t think of as “criminals” can get associated with. It’s the type of crime anyone could be arrested for.

DUI is a criminal offense in Florida. Depending on the circumstances of your DUI and your prior criminal history, a conviction can carry serious penalties including: steep fines, suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, impoundment of your vehicle, DUI school, mandatory alcohol/substance abuse treatment, community service, probation, and/or imprisonment. To ensure that your rights are protected, the first thing you should do after being arrested for DUI in South Florida is hire an experienced Fort Lauderdale or Miami DUI lawyer such as the ones at the South Florida law firm of Galanter Law. Our South Florida DUI attorneys have been defending DUI cases for 30 years here in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, and Monroe Counties.

It is imperative that you hire an attorney immediately after your DUI arrest, because strict time limitations apply to your administrative hearings as well as your criminal DUI hearing. If you had a blood alcohol content of .08 or above or refused to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) will automatically suspend your driver’s license. You only have ten days from the date of your DUI arrest to then submit a hearing request to the DHSMV to appeal your suspension. If you do not hire an attorney within this ten day period, your attorney will not be able to request a formal review hearing with the DHSMV and your license may be suspended for up to 18 months. Also, after your DUI arrest, the court will set a date for your arraignment hearing where you will have to enter your plea of not guilty, guilty, or no contest. You’ll want to hire an attorney before this hearing, so that he or she can advise you on how to plead at your arraignment.

When it comes to defending DUI cases, the lawyers at Galanter Law are aggressive, knowledgeable, and know all the tricks of the trade to get your case dismissed or your charges reduced. The Florida DUI laws are too complicated and the repercussions of a DUI conviction are too big for you to go at this alone. Remember, time is of the essence when it comes to obtaining legal representation for a DUI—so if you’ve been arrested for DUI  in South Florida, contact us right away to set up a free consultation.

0 comments

There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment

Legal Disclaimer

The Galanter Law website should not be considered as actual legal advice, or legal recommendations. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal, legal advice or the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements, or online literature. Before you decide on a criminal defense attorney, ask Galanter Law to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience.